I want to say something that has been on my mind a lot lately. Actually it started last night when I heard someone say this “if you don’t text me, I’m not going to talk to you” I was shocked at how selfish that statement was. I will be honest with you I have said this very same thing and it made me sick to hear it come from someone else’s mouth knowing it had also come out of mine.
It was a bit of an eye opening moment and there are two things that have blossomed out of it. The first is that I should be more proactive about staying in touch with my friends. I know that at time I can get offended by how distant my friends can be, for whatever reason and that sometimes I crawl up on my high horse and defiantly refuse to be the first one to break the silence and I get even more stubborn when I am personally going thru a tough time. Very often I isolate myself farther and hurt myself more because I am too prideful to say I need support in what I am facing. Yes it’s true that your friends may not be able to do anything that will change what is currently happening but they can listen, they can say they are sorry and they love you, they can come over and sit with you or bring over some beer and distract you and any number of other things. But they can’t do any of those things if you stay on that high horse and refuse to reach out. I know for certain that I do this and I do it quite often.
The second thing I realized way this, how many of my friends don’t know that I am only a text message or a phone call away, that if they made the slightest move or request in a time of need I would be there in any and all ways that I could. So I suppose what I am trying to say is this. Dear Friends please don’t be afraid or worried about reaching out to me when you are having a hard time. If you need a sounding board, I am here, if you need a hug, I’m here. If you need to rant or cry or talk it all out, I’m here. I will be your friend and love you anyway you will allow me but I can’t do that if you cut yourself off from me. I want to help you, I want to love you and support you inwhatever it is that you are doing, please let me be there for you.

