A couple of weeks ago my relief driver at work made a minor judgement error about the height of the delivery truck and the lowness of an over hang. This error resulted in a significant crunch in the delivery truck and a building over hang. I am not telling you this for pity or to rant, I tell you this as back story for the true tale I am about to tell you.

I made my morning deliveries in perfect time, and was almost to my major stop of the day at North Valley Hospital in Whitefish when the light in front of me turned yellow and then red, I being a quality driver stopped and waited for the light change. As I waited I noticed another delivery truck across the intersection, and beings as there is an unspoken bond between delivery drivers nation wide I raise my hand to wave as they turned left. To my surprise the driver raised his hand not in a wave but pointing out to his passenger the large dent in the upper corner of the box. With craned heads and laughing faces they completed the corner. I hung my head for a moment wishing I could have written on the truck somewhere “It wasn’t this women driver!” but I did laugh too, it’s a pretty nasty looking crunch and I am sure they felt bad for me, but I need to hang on to all the respect I can, being in an environment dominated by males, I need to make sure they know I am the real deal. Honestly it was the funniest part of my day. I did returned to work and asked again how long it would be before the part for the truck arrived.

Until then…

