“It all means little, all the painting, sculpture, drawing, writing…it all has its place and nothing more. An attempt is everything. How marvelous!” Alberto Giacometti

I will be honest I don’t really like to try or attempt things, I am a plan person, if I don’t know where I am going or what I want to achieve I have a very hard time taking that first step. Currently the thing that I am avoid is “call time” for my sales job. It’s curial part of my business, actually if you can’t make calls and make them well you don’t have a business. In the past few months my call time has been an epic failure, almost no return on the calls I make and I know why that is. My approach or script was well, ok I abandoned it out of fear and desperation, which is why it stopped working, I wasn’t using it. So now I am facing a very real challenge of having very limited leads and really needing to nail these phone calls because its make or break time. My sales career with Vector hinges on what kind of return I get on the 5 leads I have. I love selling Cutco but its kinda scary the place I got myself into. I was doing very well, hammering out about 30 calls a night and selling about a grand a week on My days off from the hospital and then I took a month off in October and ever since I haven’t gotten back into the swing of things. I don’t want to quit, I want to make it 30K in sales at the very least which is only 9 grand from where I sit right now, also the biggest reason I want to keep selling is that it is so fulfilling and I have so many things I want to do and they all cost money. For example I want to pay cash for my first house, travel out of Montana once a month and overseas twice a year, go to the 2012 Summer Olympics in London, get an iphone, get a BMW, etc, etc, etc. But really the biggest reason is the person  growth that goes hand in hand with a job that constantly challenges you and makes you dig deeper. Ironic that the thing I love most about this job is the thing that I have been tripping over the last 4 months. I know to you it might sound simple to make a phone call, but have you ever called up a complete stranger and asked if you can come over and show them some really sharp knives? Thats at the most base level what I do, yeah I have gotten your name from a friend of yours but really who would invite a complete stranger into their home with sharp knives? Sound a bit crazy huh? But its crazy fun too. Probably the best thing is the look on your friends face when you explain what it is you do, I have seen some great facial expression in my short time with the company.

So all that to say, tomorrow is going to be my day to get back on the sales call horse as it where. Its time to make calls and stop hiding behind my fear of failure. “What would you do if you could not fail?” I would definitely make some Cutco phone calls, buy a lottery ticket and apply for the space program, and get me a husband, just for starters. Its time to start living the dream.

 

Until then…

