There is no better therapy than the open road, Nothing but road behind and in front, no one to slow you down, just the radio, a cup of coffee and the world laid out before you. Right or left, straight or stop. The choices are all in your hands and there is just no way of knowing what you might see, who you might meet or what thoughts will walk into your mind, or out of in. There is something about the freedom of gripping a steering wheel with your foot on the gas peddle, you feel so connected to the road like all the thinks along side of it is yours. The road makes me feel like I own the world, that it belongs to me. It’s my road and whatever lay along it and whatever it takes me too is mine and I will claim it. Have you ever, while being a passenger in a car, watched the cars shadow flash across the field you are passing or the building you are driving by. The shadow of my truck is like my stake, whatever it touches I claim as my territory.

I love to drive, its one of the few things that always bring me joy and the feeling of freedom no matter how suffocated or overwhelmed I get. My truck is my sanctuary, sometimes I will allow others to join me on in a solitary place but most often it is for me alone. It’s the place I can go where all is right in the world, where my mood is alway accepted and my thoughts always the most important. No one interrupts me, no one ignores me, it’s the one place that is always about me. Its safe and fun and perfect, all I have to do is turn the key in my ignition and my trucks rumbles to life with a throaty growl and we are off to claim the world. My stereo pounds the fears out of me, as the world flys by, leaving all the things that seam like they will never change far behind.

Oh the freedom of the open road…

Until Then…

